QUICK LINKS >>>  navigation arrow HOME    navigation arrow SURF REPORT / WIND & WAVES    navigation arrow REAL TIME SURF CHECK    navigation arrow FORECASTS

Western Australia Surfers of the Year Awards 2009 set to rock

The Western Australia Surfers of the Year Awards is surfings equivalence to the WAFL's Sandover medal. Western Australias surfing night of nights has gathered in strength and momentum since it's conception in 1999. Thanks to a dream by Brad Cecins which he has made into reality. Along with the support from sponsors and individuals Cecins has built a unique event that is here to stay on the West Australian surfing Calendar.

“The importance of the awards was to be more than just acknowledging a few surfers each year. It was to develop the sport’s profile within the state’s sporting landscape by clarifying its cultural base - “Appreciating the past while recognising current performances and encouraging the surfers of tomorrow”, said Cecins.

The Western Australia Surfers of the Year Awards recognises the outstanding performances of WA short board surfers.

The vision behind the awards was to help build Western Australia's surfing culture through the Appreciation of those who excelled in the past, while Recognising our current elite surfers to Encourage future generations of WA surfers.

The recipients of the inaugural awards in 1999 were Taj Burrow (Cairns Medal - Male Surfer of the Year), Melanie Redman- Carr (Cooper Medal - Female Surfer of the Year) and Ry Craike (Smith Medal - Junior Surfer of the Year) with the Mike McAuliffe Award for Exceptional Performances going to Mitch Thorson, Brooke Farris, Luke Campbell, Dave Macaulay and Tevita Gukilau.

The Dave Kennedy Memorial Honour Board lists the recipients of these awards since 1999.

In 2005 the Len Dibben Award for Service was developed to recognise the contributions made to the WA surfing industry. To date, 26 people have been acknowledged for their outstanding efforts over a long period of time and their names are inscribed on the Len Dibben Honour Board.

Another 8 people will be added this year. Creatures of Leisure, Star Surf, West Surfing Products and srosurf.com have been the sponsors of these awards since their inception with Surfing WA coming on board four years ago.

Both honour boards reside at the Yelo Café - West Coast Drive - Trigg.

Each year we endeavour to acknowledge an area within the surfing industry. Last year we saluted the Dolphin Surfriders with a reunion at the Indi Bar. Over 230 people attended a great night of music and memories.

This year we invite all short board-riding clubs - past and present - to come together and celebrate the mateship and good times shared by former and current club members.

The 2009 awards will be held on:

Saturday 21st November
The Indi Bar
27 Hastings St
Free Entry from 7:00 pm

7:00 pm Japanese Tongue Sisters
7:30 pm Awards Announcements
8:15 pm Mister and Sunbird
10:00 pm Sons of Rico
11:00 pm The Chemist

General public welcome

copyright 2009 SRO www.srosurf.com All rights reserved 2009 © IP, concept and design applies.
Last updated 12/09/2009